Books I have authored.

Many times I receive books for FREE to give them an honest review. I do not get paid to give a good or bad review. Spotlights are promotional and should be regarded as advertising for the book spotlighted. Regardless of where or how I got a book, my review will be as honest as I can make it.

Wednesday, June 19, 2013

Echoes of Death by Marlene Mitchell and Gary Yeagle

   Grant is a young man pondering his future in law enforcement while faced with the antagonism of his red necked Chief.  Grant is thrust into a series of grisly murders that are totally out of character for his small town.  In the previous book, Grant faced a major ethical decision.  This book picks up where the last book left off. 

Grant Denlinger is back in this mystery set in the Great Smokey Mountains.

I would recommend reading these books in order.  I think they will make more sense.  Once again the community has mixed emotions about the victims of the latest murders.  None of the victims generate any empathy. 

The authors do not tar the villain with a broad brush.  They show the motivation and the provocation of the villain’s behavior.   Instead of loathing the bad guy, you tend to feel sorry for them while knowing that justice needs to prevail. 

Chief Blue is also back and together with Grant they tackle the knotty ethical problem that has plaqued Grant throughout the first book and this book as well.  

Finally there does seem to be the potential for a follow up on this story.  There is a revelation at the very end that clearly sets up a sequel.  

My review of Seasons Of Death (first book in the series.)

This book may have been received free of charge from a publisher or a publicist. That will NEVER ave a bearing on my recommendations.

No comments: