Required Reading

Life is complicated enough without getting into hotwater with federal agencies so: TAKE NOTE Many things I review I got at no charge in exchange for an honest review. Consider this as informing you that ALL things I review may have been gotten at no charge. Realistically about 60% but in order to keep things above board just assume that I got the stuff free. I do not collect information on my readers. If cookies or other tracking stuff is used on my blogs it is due to BLOGGER not ME. Apparently the European Union's new rules state I need to inform you if cookies are being use. If they are it isn't byu me, consider yourself INFORMED.
Words like, “sponsored,” “promotion,” “paid ad” or even just “ad” are clear ways to disclose that you’re being paid to share information and links so BE AWARE that some of what I write can be described as an AD by the government. BTW I will NEVER say a product is great, super or even acceptable if it isn't, whether I got it free or NOT!

Books I have authored.

Many times I receive books for FREE to give them an honest review. I do not get paid to give a good or bad review. Spotlights are promotional and should be regarded as advertising for the book spotlighted. Regardless of where or how I got a book, my review will be as honest as I can make it.

Tuesday, April 29, 2008

The Chantry Guild by Gordon Dickson

First Gordon Dickson is one of my all time favorite authors. The Childe Cycle is a series of books by Dickson on the future of man. Man has gone into the void in splintered cultures. These splintered cultures develop their respective strengths and weakness in their ideologically uniform environments. While the premise doesn’t sound terribly inviting, the series overall is excellent. This particular book features characters that have been involved throughout the series and is the culmination of events to that point. The series was never finished due to the untimely death of Dickson. If you are at all intrigued you should start with “Dorsai” the first book in the series. The Dorsai characters remained my favorite throughout the series.
Titles in the series in order of publication are:
Dorsai! (alternate title: The Genetic General) (1959)
Necromancer (1962) (vt No Room for Man)
Soldier, Ask Not (1968)
Tactics of Mistake (1971)
The Final Encyclopedia (1984)
The Chantry Guild (1988)

Body of work of Gordon Dickson

Overview of Dickson’s Work:

No comments: